Harvey Awards
October 18, 2024

Harvey Awards

The Harvey Awards are one of the comic industry’s oldest and most prestigious awards. Recognizing outstanding achievement in multiple categories, the Harvey’s have been a fixture of the comic industry since 1988. This year, the Harvey Awards returns to New York Comic Con – the largest pop culture gathering in the United States.

Spotlighting comic books, graphic novels, manga and more, the Harvey’s are industry awards selected by a full body of comic and publishing professionals.

The Harvey Awards are an opportunity to shine a spotlight on the best & brightest, helping new readers, current fans, booksellers, retailers and librarians distinguish the best comics of the year as voted on by their peers. This year’s nominees will be selected by a handpicked contingent of industry voices and voted on by qualifying professionals. For more information about the categories and the voting procedure visit our FAQ section.

“With the new Harvey Awards at NYCC, our goal is to bring the year’s best graphic works to the fore,” said Nellie Kurtzman, chair of the Harvey Awards Executive Committee. “As a reader, seeing a book acknowledged by the Harvey Awards should ensure you’re picking up the best our industry has to offer. As a librarian, educator or retailer – the Harvey Awards should help guide you towards quality material. With the help of the new nomination and voting procedures, our goal is to help new and old fans alike find the best work the comics medium has to offer.”

This year’s awards will be coordinated by Alex Rae, Camilla Di Persia, and Chris D’Lando of ReedPop.

The Harvey Awards will be presented this year in the following categories:

Book of the Year

Best long-form graphic novel or collection that demonstrating excellence in writing, art or cartooning showcasing great representation of the form.

Digital Book of the Year

Best comic or collection originally presented in a digital format.

Best Children's Book

Best long-form original graphic novel or collection presented for younger audiences.

Best Young Adult Book

Best long-form original graphic novel or collection presented for younger audiences.

Best Adaptation from Comic Book/Graphic Novel

Best adaptation to another medium of a work originally presented as a graphic novel, trade collection or comic book.

Best Manga

Best single manga of the year translated in to English.

Best International Book

Best international material translated in to English

NOTE: This category has been updated from ‘Best European Book’ to be more inclusive of other works

In addition to the above, the following Special Awards will be presented to individuals as chosen by the Harvey Awards Executive Committee:

Comics Industry Pioneer Award

Honoring those who have provided special contributions to the comic book and graphic novel industry

Harvey Hall of Fame Award

Honoring creators who have had a distinguished career or impact on the medium for over two decades.

International Spotlight Award

Presented to a creator whose work originates outside the United States or Canada that has had an impact on the medium.